It’s all in the wording

Or, let’s call it semantics, OK? You say tomato; I say tomahto.   There’ve been a lot of words strewn about both before, during and after the campaign.  And now that President Trump’s been elected, if you’re anything like me, an average American, not overly brilliant but then again not stupid either, you come away most times wondering if in fact you actually heard what it is that you think you heard.   We feel like Inigo Montoya from the Princess Bride who famously said, “You keep using that word.  I do not think it means what you think it means”.

And as every day seems to bring a White House press conference that sees Sean Spicer searching for the right words to clarify this or that declaration, I thought I’d list some of them here to see if I’m alone in my muddle.  Let’s see, oh yes,  we discussed the wordban”.  Everybody knows what that means; everybody it seems except this administration.  But before that we had Trump’s inaugural address which produced such niceties as “carnage” when referring to the inner cities and was thought of as “dystopian”.  These left little doubt to what the President and others were referring to.  But then Kellyanne Conway weighed in and all hell broke loose.

Just what is an “alternate fact” any damn way?  Is it a fake fact?  In that case, wouldn’t it be called a lie then?  If so, let’s simplify; why use two words when one will do?  Dare I say it, maybe she should’ve used misconception.  See, that works; it rolls off the tongue nicely and leaves politically wiggle room.  And if it’s anything this administration needs its wiggle room.

Since then what was bordering on the absurd and ludicrous is now sliding along dangerous avenue as we realize that even some words we actually heard and thought about didn’t seem to strike a chord with some voters; and we knew their meaning.  We heard the word misogynistic time and time again yet we ignored it even in the face of evidence of such.  We heard racist and intolerant yet even now many Republicans are dauntingly, dumfounded that the president-elect is acting as he is.  Either that or it just shows the extent to which they’re willing to sell both their party and the rest of America out.

Like I said in the beginning, it’s all in the wording but the devil is in the details.  It’s getting dark now and I’ve heard words that truly scare me: rendition, black site prisons, purge, betrayal, autocracy.  Everybody has heard them, even the Republicans in Congress.  They’re simply don’t care and are not listening and I have a word for that.  Inconceivable!  And I know exactly what it means.

Hey, there are a lot more out there than what I’ve listed her; a whole lot more.  Drop me a comment and let me know your choices of “strangely-used” words put out by this administration. Look forward to hearing from you.    

1 Comment

Filed under Opinion, Politics and Government

One response to “It’s all in the wording

  1. How about i list some of the ones I don’t hear, like “checks and balances, religious freedom, tolerance, I keep listening for them but they don’t seem to come…

Leave a Reply

