Lessons on Ratio in a 2 Quart Baking Dish

Tuna casserole is a casserole mainly composed of egg noodles and canned tuna fish, with canned peas and corn sometimes added. The casserole is often topped with potato chips, corn flakes or canned fried onions.

“Tuna casserole is a casserole mainly composed of egg noodles and canned tuna fish, with canned peas and corn sometimes added.” Peas?! It’s their recipe.

Life is a very relative recipe; an existence that requires an equal balance of materials, utility, emotion, intelligence and courage, among other things.  Striking such a balance is trial and error.  It’s an erudite application but one that’s required if any success in life is what you’re hoping to garner.

My balancing act drives my wife crazy.  It’s not that it bothers her I’m trying to attain some sort of Zen-like repose in all that I do; that’s something I’m sure she’s happy about.  What wife wouldn’t want her husband to realize such inner peace?

No, what gripes her is when I attempt to strike such a balance in everyday things like making the bed; something that she prefers she do alone, without my help.  Is it my fault that I like covers to hang evenly on both sides?

So, there I was yesterday, after eating a well-proportioned breakfast, attempting to strike a good equilibrium while creating a well-proportioned tuna casserole.

Tuna casserole is a simple, and at the same time tricky, dish; at its humblest, consisting of canned tuna, pasta, sauce and cheese.  But take it up a notch and it becomes something you wouldn’t mind serving close friends.  It’s comfort food yet it can become quite uncomfortable if you don’t have your ingredients at the right…you guessed it, proportions.

Tuna casseroles crave moisture and it takes a delicate measure to provide an acceptable amount of sauce that will stand up to the cooking process and still provide enough wetness to make your finished product enjoyable. One of the worst things to consume is a dry tuna casserole; I’m just saying.

Tasking myself, my mind advised me to allow for some leeway in this most necessary

An ancient Athenian casserole and brazier.

An ancient Athenian casserole and brazier.

ingredient.  So I planned for excess at the end, just in case.  Like in real life, it always pays to have more than what’s needed; especially when you’re talking about the “sauce” in your existence that makes everything go down a lot easier.

You need sauce as a medium to blend and bind all the various ingredients you’ve assembled for your creation.  I took mine up a notch by adding minced fresh peppers, various herbs, seasonings and cheeses.  I let it simmer for a period to soften the peppers and allow the ingredients to infuse.  The smell going through the kitchen was wonderful; unlike anything I’d done before. But then again, that’s life.  Adding a bit of seasoning to the sauce that lubes your world can only make it smell a lot better where you’re at.

So, what about the final product, you ask?  Truthfully, I’m still going to tweak the recipe.  It was good, best I’ve made yet, but even as diligent as I was about making enough sauce for the casserole, I still could’ve used a bit more.  I mean, after all, there’re still left-overs to consider.

Tuna casserole photo by B.D.’s world (Flickr: Tuna Casserole) [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Ancient brazier/casserole by G.dallorto (Own work) [Attribution], via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a comment

Filed under Life and Society

Leave a Reply

