Digitally and Portably Challenged in a Digital, Portable World

A side view of what's growing.

A side view of what’s growing. Tomatoes and peppers and containers round back.

To those of you out there listening, or reading as the case may be, I’d like to extend my apologies to you as it’s been a while since you’ve heard from me.  Even with a recent offering (June?, you call that recent?!), it still leaves me with a scattered overall contribution for the summer, and that’s not a good thing.  Truth is for the past few weeks, I’ve been busy “down on the farm”.  (Visit me at http://urbanvegetablesoldier.wordpress.com and see what I’m talking about.)

With as much disdain that I have for all new technology, it surprises me when every once and a while, situations rear their head that make a believer out of me pertaining to that same technology’s usefulness in society.  For as much as I’ve shunned tablets , smartphones and all things purportedly destined to make life easier, it hasn’t escaped me that I could’ve used one or the other during these hectic early days of planting and garden starting.

So now, here I am, an old curmudgeon, stuck in his ways yet trying to assimilate his analog ass into what is becoming an increasingly digital and portable world.  Doing so would be stressful if it weren’t for a timely management tool that’s ingrained in us.  And ingrained is the operative and prime word in this example; because we all prioritize whether we like it or not.

Oh, we think we’re making a conscious effort to do so; and most times we are.  On the other hand, there are moments when your body will choose the decision for you as your continued good health demands that it make such an adjustment.  And as our lives become gradually more hectic and demanding, such fine-tuning will become more common.  What’s necessary for us is that we recognize and accept such tweaks as they occur.

I recognized them on my end and the rest is blog history.  Moving forward, I won’t browbeat myself about any of this.  I’ll just accept it as another segment of this great pageant we call life…and get a laptop.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life and Society, Vegetable Gardening

Leave a Reply

